DIY | Lace Effect Mirror

In case you weren’t all aware, The Range do some of the best mirrors. When my parents moved house I popped in and found a lovely oak framed mirror for a very good price of £16. The only issue was that the oak colouring didn’t suit the white painted wood in my new bedroom. So I decided to try my hand at creating a laced framed mirror on a budget.

To create this DIY I originally planned to use white lace but it’s actually quite expensive! I looked around for a cheaper alternative and found some paper doilies in my local cake decorating shop. Seeing how similar the two materials were I decided to try using these instead.

Before I could create my lace effect using my paper doilies, I needed to prep my frame. To do this, I watered down some white acrylic paint (furniture paint would also suffice) about 2 parts paint to 1 part water. I then began to apply very thin layers of paint until I was happy with the colour. I wanted to achieve a white washed look which took about three coats in total.

After all coats were applied and dried, I began tearing up strips of the doilies so they were easier to use. I made a mix of PVA glue and water like you do with Papier Mâché and strip by strip I dunked them into the bowl that contained my mix and then laid them on top of and around the mirror frame. I built it up layer by layer until most of the gaps were covered. It is best if you work on one side of the mirror and then let it fully dry before you begin the other side and work like that. This is because the glue will most likely drip and this way you can cover the drips with your next side of doilies.

Once I was happy with the layout and the placing of my doilies I let it fully dry for about 2 days. After this I coated the whole frame with my PVA mix to give it a sheen and stop the doilies from peeling off the wood. Then all that was left was to hang my beautiful new piece! Although I made this a few years ago, I feel like it still works so well with lot’s of decors as it is a neutral colour. Tell me if you plan to do this with any of your old unloved mirrors as I’d love to see how they turn out!

20170115_132653

20170115_132702

One thought on “DIY | Lace Effect Mirror

Leave a Reply

