DIY | Curtain Tiebacks

When my parents bought their last house and had it renovated I was still living with them. We moved in in July 2015 and I was lucky enough to get a nice big bedroom at the front of the house with a huge bay window. In true Chloe style, I designed my room decor and we had the decorators bring my visions to life. The theme was coral and blue, colours I had never had in my bedroom before so I was excited to see what I could do with them.

We bought some blue curtains from Dunelm and extended them so that they reached the floor and once they were up I was so happy with them. The only thing missing was some tiebacks to keep them out of the way during the day so I could look out of my gorgeous window. I couldn’t find any that I liked that also matched the colour of the curtains perfectly so I decided to make my own. Let me show you how I did this.

Firstly I bought some plain basic tiebacks in the sale at £1.50. Then, using leftover material from the curtains, I covered the tiebacks and glued the material onto the back using my glue gun. I then went to Wilkinsons and bought some silk flowers and started taking them apart so that I had individual ones. Using my glue gun I then glued some of the flowers onto the tiebacks so that they had something different about them to the tiebacks you see in the homeware stores.

That was pretty much it! All in all it was a very quick DIY and a good solution to my colour matching problem. Let me know what you think and if you have some tiebacks that are a little bit different to the norm.

20170115_132250

20170115_132426

Leave a Reply

