Day 12 | Hanging Christmas Tree

So finally day 12 is here and in a way I am sad because I have so enjoyed doing a post a day but on the other hand I am pleased for a bit of a rest! For my final DIY I am going all out and creating a hanging Christmas tree above my table ready for the big day.

To do this DIY you will need a large branch, some spray paint, screw-in hooks, some secateurs, string and a variety of baubles. I found my branch in a nearby woods and took it home with me in the car. I then began by trimming my branch to the right length and taking off any bits of the branch that weren’t strong enough to hang a bauble off. I then spray painted my branch with white spray paint to give it a frosted look.

Whilst my branch was drying, I screwed two hooks into the ceiling of my conservatory. I’m quite lucky as we have PVC frames which makes it really easy to screw or hang anything up. If you are doing this into a normal ceiling you may need rawl plugs and a drill to help you. I then cut a length of string and tied it round one end of my branch and threaded it through the hook in the ceiling. I adjusted the length of the string depending on how low I wanted the branch to sit above the table. I then repeated the same steps on the other end of the branch.

20161224_13075120161224_13080720161224_130819

Once I was happy with the height of the branch, I tied the string in a few knots so it was really secure. I then began hanging my baubles off it at different heights and intervals. I didn’t want to hang too many baubles off the branch as not only could it look a bit cluttered but the weight of them might not hold long enough to last until Christmas day!

20161224_133038

This really didn’t take as long as I thought it would and it is such a lovely feature over my dining table ready for some lovely food and wonderful company. I just want to thank you all for your comments and likes throughout the 12 days of DIY as the support has been amazing! Merry Christmas to each and every one of you and I’ll see you all in the new year! Happy Crafting!

20161224_13301420161224_13302020161224_13304520161224_175500

Leave a Reply

