Day 1 | Festive Orange Slices

Finally Christmas is upon us! In the spirit of the season, I am doing 12 days of DIY on my blog. Each day until 24th December I am treating you all to a Christmas themed DIY! So let’s begin with Day 1…

In one of my recent posts about how to make your own candle wreath I mentioned using real orange slices. Since then, I’ve had quite a few people asking me how I did this so let me talk you through it.

Firstly I chose large round Oranges, not the type you would eat this time of year like clementines as these are too small. I then sliced them evenly and with a width of about 1-2 cm. You want to slice them thicker than you actually want them to turn out as during the drying process they shrink. I then laid them on kitchen roll for about an hour to soak up any excess liquid. This step is really important as the dryer they are going into the oven the better they turn out. Whilst the slices are drying on the kitchen roll, make sure you preheat the oven to 80-100 degrees Celsius depending on oven type.

20161209_133541

20161209_133831

Next you will need to lay the slices on baking trays with grease-proof paper underneath. Make sure you space the slices out evenly so they aren’t too close together. It is best to leave them in the oven for 2 hours minimum and turn them halfway through. The whole idea is to cook them on a low temperature for a continued amount of time.

20161209_135004

Once you’re happy they are sufficiently dry you can take them out of the oven and leave them to cool. The nicest thing about doing this DIY is that it fills your whole house with a citrus smell that feels so inviting. They are handy to keep in a jar ready for any crafts you may need them for or in a shallow bowl with some mixed potpourri to help make your house smell amazing! You can also apply the same method above to other fruits like Apples, Limes and Lemons and then string them together along with cinnamon sticks and pine cones for a natural themed garland.

Let me know if you have tried drying orange slices before and what you ended up using them for as I would love to see your pictures and works of art! Happy Crafting!

20161209_190723

2 thoughts on “Day 1 | Festive Orange Slices

Leave a Reply

